The newly re-elected Speaker of the tenth Lagos State House of Assembly, Dr. Mudashiru Ajayi Obasa, has called on his fellow members to prioritize the welfare of their constituents.

Obasa made this plea on Wednesday while celebrating his re-election and emergence as the Lagos State House of Assembly Speaker on his Twitter handle.

“Lagos State is a great state with great potentials and we have a responsibility to harness these potentials and maximize them for the benefit of our people,” he tweeted.

READ ALSO: TETFund Approves N130m As Zonal Intervention For Polytechnics

“We must prioritize the welfare of our constituents and ensure that our policies are geared towards meeting their needs.”

The lawmaker representing Agege 01 constituency was on Tuesday re-elected as the Lagos House of Assembly Speaker after being nominated by Hon Temitope Adewale representing Ifako-Ijaiye 1 State Constituency.

After the Lagos state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu had earlier issued the proclamation for the House, Obasa’s nomination was seconded by the lawmaker representing Epe II, Ogunkelu Sylvester Oluwadahunsi, making it unanimous.

“History was made yesterday as I set the pace as the first legislator to be elected a record six times and the first to be Speaker for three consecutive terms in Nigeria,” Obasa wrote.


“I humbly extend my appreciation to the leadership of our great party, the All Progressives Congress (APC).

“I thank President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, GCFR, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and his deputy, Dr. Kadiri Obafemi Hamzat, the Governor’s Advisory Council (GAC), my constituents in Agege for their continued support.”

Obasa promised to work tirelessly with his colleagues in the 10th Assembly to ensure that they continue to uphold the legacy of excellence for which the Lagos State House of Assembly is known.

He also said that under his leadership, the House of Assembly will operate an open and inclusive administration where all members will be carried along and given equal opportunity to contribute towards the development of Lagos State.

Six-term lawmaker, Obasa will be presiding over the House of Assembly in Lagos for the third consecutive term as he was first elected speaker in the year 2015.

39 lawmakers-elect of the Lagos State House of Assembly had also reportedly endorsed the return of the incumbent Speaker, Obasa, to lead the 10th Assembly.

The 10th Lagos State House of Assembly, which comprises 40 members, is dominated by the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) which has 38 members while the Labour Party (LP) has only two members.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here