Senate President Ahmad Lawan on Thursday swore in Christopher Ekpenyong as Senator representing Akwa Ibom North West.

This followed Ekpeyong’s victory at the rerun election ordered by the Court and conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Jan. 25.

NAN reports that the All Progressive Congress (APC) did not participate in the re-run.

APC’s failure to participate in the election followed a letter from INEC that the party cannot substitute a candidate for the rerun.


The Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Sen. Godswill Akpabio, who contested the Feb. 2019 National Assembly election as a sitting senator on the platform of the APC had dragged Ekpeyong to court.

Ekpeyong’s victory was cut short by the Court of Appeal which directed INEC to conduct a fresh poll.

News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Ekpeyong is a senator under the People’s Democratic Party.



Previous articleCourt Strikes Out MTN’s N3bn Against FG
Next articleUzodinma forfeits security vote for workers’ salaries, pension in Imo
ABN TV is one of the most visited news platform across Nigeria and the world over. It has carved a niche for itself in delivering authentic, accurate news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here