England could face Scotland or Wales at the Fifa World Cup Qatar 2022 after the draw for the tournament’s finals was made on Friday.

Qatar 2022 World Cup: Full Group Draws

One of Wales, Scotland or Ukraine will go into Group B after the remaining European play-off path is completed.

Iran and the USA have also been drawn in England’s group.

The World Cup takes place between 21 November and 18 December in Qatar, with the hosts playing Ecuador in the tournament’s opening game.

England’s first fixture, taking place on the same day, sees them take on Iran.

Reigning champions France are in Group D while Brazil, who returned to number one in the Fifa world rankings on 31 March, are in Group G.

Wales, seeking to reach their first World Cup since 1958, will have to overcome the winners of Scotland and Ukraine in the play-off final in June.

However, that semi-final – which had been scheduled to take place on 24 March at Hampden – was postponed because of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.


Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands


Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales/Scotland/Ukraine


Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland


Group D: France, UAE/Australia/Peru, Denmark, Tunisia


Group E: Spain, Costa Rica/New Zealand, Germany, Japan


Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia


Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon


Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here