Authorities in the United Kingdom (UK) have finalised the decision to review the travel ban imposed on Nigeria and 10 other countries amid the detection of Omicron COVID variant.

Sajid Javid, UK Health Secretary, said this when he briefed the British Parliament on Tuesday.
According to him, England will remove all 11 countries from red list from 04:00 GMT on Wednesday.

“So I can announce today that whilst we’ll maintain our temporary testing measures for international travel, we will be removing all 11 countries from the travel red list effective from 4am tomorrow,” he said.

Similarly, Transport Secretary, Grant Shapps, took to Twitter to announce that lifting of the ban will take effect on Wednesday.


READ ALSO: After Sack Of Nanono, Mamman Buhari Seeks Confirmation Of Muazu Sambo As Minister

“From 4am on Weds 15 Dec, ALL 11 countries will be removed from England’s travel red. All current TESTING measures remain in place & will be reviewed in the first week of January.

“As always, we keep all our travel measures under review and we may impose new restrictions should there be a need to do so to protect public health,” Shapps tweeted.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here