INEC Declares APC Oyebanji Ekiti Gov-elect

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Mr. Biodun Oyebanji winner of Ekiti governorship poll.

Oyetola polled 187,058 votes to emerge the winner while the standard bearer of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) Engr. Segun Oni garnered 82, 211 votes to come second in the contest.

The candidate of the People Democratic Party (PDP) Otuba Bisi Kolawole came a distant third 67,457 votes.

While Oyebanji secured landslide victory in 15 local areas, Kolawole won Efon local government where he hails from.


APC cleared Ado, Ekiti west, Gbonyin, Ijero, Ikole, Ikere, Ado, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ilejemeje, Ido/Osi and Moba. Others are Ekiti Southwest, Oye, Emure, Ise/Orun and Ekiti East local government areas.

Announcing the results at the early hours of Sunday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Kayode Adebowale, said the APC candidate ,Oyebanji, scored the highest number of votes to win the election.

Prof. Adebowale, who is also the Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan, said the total number of accredited voters in the state was 989,224, 351,865 while total votes cast was 360,753,

Declaring the winner, Prof. Adebowale said ” That Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji of the All Progressive Congress, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected”.

According to the results, the 16 political parties that participated in the exercise polled the following votes. A (166); AAC (409); ADC (5597); ADP (3495), APGA (376); APM (290); APP (1980); LP (195); NNDP (529); NRM (347); PDP (67457); PRP (856); SDP (82,211), YPP, (618) and ZLP (282).