The ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, has swept all 17 local government chairmanship seats in the just concluded local government council election in the state.

The party also won all the 178 councillorship seats in the state.

The Chairman, Yobe State Independent Electoral Commission, YOSIEC, Dr Mamman Muhammad, announced this at the commission’s headquarters in Damaturu on Sunday.

READ ALSO: Troops Engage Terrorists In Gun Battle, Rescue Passengers In Delta

“APC has won all the 17 chairmanships and 178 councillorships in the local government elections”, he declared.


He added that the commission had received, considered, validated and adopted the results of each of the 178 councillors of the wards.

Dr. Muhammad commended the electorates for ensuring that the polls were free and peaceful.

The election was conducted without the participation of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

The party through its Organizing Secretary, Mohammed Sulayman had earlier claimed that the election might not be free, fair and credible.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here